Review: The Rain Song

The Rain Song (The Zeppelin Series Book 1)The Rain Song by Janice Grove
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is an intriguing story about a family who opens their hearts and home to a little boy in need of love and someone he can really count on and trust. The Remington’s are in for a big surprise with little Micah though. Opening their home to foster a child with issues is one thing but little Micah comes with some unexpected complications. How can anyone ever prepare to literally fight heaven and hell to keep a child safe? It quickly becomes apparent just precisely how much little Micah needs the Remington’s. Has he finally found in them the family he’s always needed?

The Rain Song is the first in a series of books written by Janice Grove that takes you on the Remington family’s journey of danger, love, and loyalty, leaving you waiting with anticipation for the sequel “Going To California” to see what happens next.

Some may have a little problem with the fact that this story doesn’t tie everything up in a neat little bundle by the end of this book, instead it leaves you wanting more with a cliff-hanger. Is that a bad thing? No, absolutely not…I like having something to look forward to in the next book. I can’t wait to pick it up!

I really appreciate that this author wrote this story in such a way that it’s appropriate for almost any age. It’s not full of the foul or coarse language you often see in stories that deal with the supernatural or paranormal and as a mom and avid reader I really like that! Too often I feel assaulted when reading stories of this genre, it seems like too many authors throw in coarse language unnecessarily. This means I don’t have to verbally edit this book when reading it aloud to my son and that I can easily hand my copy over to him and allow him to read it without having to worry about language he may pick up.

Speaking of children…this story is also short enough to be easily read by new readers young or old. I mentioned my son, he’s 11. He was able to pick this book up and really got into it, it wasn’t over his head either. My husband who is NOT a fan of reading also read this book; this is one of very few books I’ve actually known him to pick up and read….no wait, it’s the ONLY book I’ve known him to finish. This shows me that Mrs. Grove somehow navigates a path that allows readers of all levels to engage in her stories; that’s a very rare thing in my view.

I’m really looking forward to the next installment! Can’t wait to read “Going to California”!

View all my reviews

About Anita Dugan-Moore

This blog gives me the opportunity to talk about the book covers I create for some wonderful authors and share my thoughts on movies and books that I love. Who knows...I may even share some of my own writing on here...or whatever else happens to pop into my mind.
This entry was posted in book reviews, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

